CPU spikes signing in to Yahoo

An instant messenger which can connect to AIM, GTalk, Jabber, ICQ, and more.
mikeb12345
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 12:39 pm

CPU spikes signing in to Yahoo

Postby mikeb12345 » Wed Mar 12, 2014 12:46 pm

Adium 1.5.9 on Mavericks 10.9.2

I started up Mac this morning as I do every morning and a few minutes later noticed my computer fan spinning. A quick view from top showed Adium was using 150% CPU. I quit Adium and restarted it and a few minutes later it was back at 150% CPU or greater. I started to disable all of my accounts (AIM, Yahoo, Google) and enabled one at a time. It turned out that connecting to Yahoo caused CPU usage to spike. I went to www.yahoo.com and logged out and logged back in with the same account credentials as Adium is set to use and was able to log in. Not sure if there are any logs to view but nothing in /var/log/system.log from Adium and nothing in ~/Library/Application Support/Adium 2.0/.

moniker
Harmless
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 2:43 am

Re: CPU spikes signing in to Yahoo

Postby moniker » Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:14 pm

Same thing here, but noticed a Diagnostic Report kicked out by Mavericks... attached.

Adium: 1.5.9
OSX: 10.9.2

Canceling the Yahoo attempt to connect stopped the CPU spin.
Attachments
Adium_2014-03-12-085819_MacBook-Pro.cpu_resource.spin.zip
(9.16 KiB) Downloaded 277 times

dragosd
Harmless
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 8:49 am

Re: CPU spikes signing in to Yahoo

Postby dragosd » Tue Mar 18, 2014 8:52 am

Same here.
Happened this morning. Worked fine yesterday.
It does connect fine to GTalk but hangs with high CPU usage upon connecting to Yahoo.

Adium: 1.5.9
OSX: 10.9.2

TnIan
Harmless
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2014 6:57 pm

Re: CPU spikes signing in to Yahoo

Postby TnIan » Tue Mar 18, 2014 7:03 pm

Adium 1.5.9 on Mavericks 10.9.2

Same here. Noticed this under System Log Queries -> All Messages in Console:

3/18/14 2:47:58.000 PM kernel[0]: process Adium[42166] thread 11777544 caught burning CPU! It used more than 50% CPU (Actual recent usage: 78%) over 180 seconds. thread lifetime cpu usage 100.457238 seconds, (66.691979 user, 33.765259 system) ledger info: balance: 90001795233 credit: 90001795233 debit: 0 limit: 90000000000 (50%) period: 180000000000 time since last refill (ns): 114535760378

vapourick
Harmless
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 2:55 pm

Re: CPU spikes signing in to Yahoo

Postby vapourick » Wed Mar 19, 2014 3:04 pm

I get the same problem. this is a "Hot Issue" on Adium's home page and it references a incorrect forum thread and a ticket that was closed 4 weeks ago.


Hot issues

Most recent regressions and commonly reported issues which are known to us:

There is a widespread Yahoo connection issue forum thread (http://forums.cocoaforge.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=24343) which triggers a bug causing high CPU use. At least the CPU use issue will be fixed in Adium 1.5.10, we'll have beta ready very soon. (#16431) https://trac.adium.im/ticket/16431

vapourick
Harmless
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2014 2:55 pm

Re: CPU spikes signing in to Yahoo

Postby vapourick » Wed Mar 19, 2014 10:00 pm

someone posted this nightly build in my support ticket. I downloaded and it's fixed the problem.

http://nightly.adium.im/?repo_branch=adium-adium-1.5.10

User avatar
Robby
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 2572
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 3:00 am
Contact:

Re: CPU spikes signing in to Yahoo

Postby Robby » Wed Mar 19, 2014 11:25 pm

vapourick wrote:[…]this is a "Hot Issue" on Adium's home page and it references a incorrect forum thread

Fixed, thanks.

vapourick wrote:and a ticket that was closed 4 weeks ago.[…]

Yes.

trane
Harmless
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 12:08 pm

Re: CPU spikes signing in to Yahoo

Postby trane » Sat Apr 05, 2014 4:30 am

I seem to be experiencing this problem with both Yahoo and, as of about an hour ago, ICQ. Looking forward to 1.5.10 going gold.

OS X 10.7.5
Adium 1.5.9

User avatar
Robby
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 2572
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 3:00 am
Contact:

Re: CPU spikes signing in to Yahoo

Postby Robby » Wed May 21, 2014 8:59 pm

For the record, 1.5.10 "went gold“ the day before yesterday. =-)

trane
Harmless
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 12:08 pm

Re: CPU spikes signing in to Yahoo

Postby trane » Sun May 25, 2014 5:34 am

I just upgraded to 1.5.10 and Yahoo still seems to be borked for me. When I enable the account, I see:

Code: Select all

Error: Error reading from login.yahoo.com: Undefined error: 0


It may just be a transient issue with Yahoo itself, but at this moment, the 1.5.10 client just cycles through reconnect attempts every 5 seconds.

Ideas? :idea:

Early 2008 MacBook4,1 / OS X 10.7.5 / 6 GB RAM / Crucial M500 960 GB SSD

Edited to add: It seems that the high CPU bug has been fixed, but I'm now experiencing this one. Dang.

User avatar
Robby
Cocoaforge Admin
Posts: 2572
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 3:00 am
Contact:

Re: CPU spikes signing in to Yahoo

Postby Robby » Sun May 25, 2014 12:21 pm

1.5.10 doesn’t fix the connection issue: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=26488.


Return to “Adium”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users